Birkbeck, University of London
Early Modern History MA
Birkbeck, University of London

Modalités de cours proposées

Faits du cours

Course description

Notre MA Early Modern History explore les sociétés européennes du début de l'ère moderne, de la Renaissance à la Réforme, puis aux Lumières et au déclenchement de la Révolution française. L'une de ses caractéristiques les plus passionnantes et distinctives est qu'il considère les développements en Grande-Bretagne, en Europe continentale (notamment l'Italie, l'Allemagne et la France) et dans le monde entier dans une perspective comparative, ce qui remet en question l'idée de la nature distinctive des histoires nationales.

Certains des thèmes clés que tu étudieras sont l'impact des conflits religieux, les développements économiques et sociaux, le gouvernement et l'ordre social, la croissance des établissements urbains, la population et l'évolution démographique, les interactions mutuelles entre l'Europe et les Amériques, et la croissance du pouvoir de l'État.

Tu pourras choisir des modules à option en histoire moderne précoce dans tout le département d'histoire, de lettres classiques et d'archéologie, et tu recevras une formation aux méthodologies historiques et aux techniques de recherche pour t'aider à rechercher et à rédiger une thèse sur le sujet qui t'intéresse le plus.

Tu liras beaucoup à la fois des ouvrages secondaires et des sources primaires traduites, mais il n'y a pas d'exigence linguistique.

Les points forts.

  • Notre département d'histoire, de lettres classiques et d'archéologie est un centre d'excellence international. Depuis 2001, nous figurons régulièrement parmi les dix premiers départements évalués par le Research Excellence Framework (REF).

  • Notre recherche est unique par sa portée au-delà des frontières géographiques et chronologiques. Nous sommes le seul département universitaire de Londres à compter des historiens, des classicistes et des archéologues qui étudient chaque période, de la préhistoire au début du XXIe siècle. Nous considérons que l'étude du passé est cruciale pour notre compréhension de la société, de la culture et de la politique actuelles.

  • Tous les étudiants en master peuvent postuler pour nos prestigieuses bourses Eric Hobsbawm, sous réserve de disponibilité. L'un des historiens les plus influents du vingtième siècle, Eric Hobsbawm a enseigné à Birkbeck pendant plus de cinq décennies et a incarné ce qui est au cœur de notre enseignement et de notre recherche : un engagement continu envers l'enquête critique et l'engagement public.

  • Nous sommes au cœur du Londres universitaire et avons accès à des ressources de recherche inégalées. À proximité se trouvent : l'Institute of Classical Studies, avec sa bibliothèque, ses installations de formation et ses séminaires ; le British Museum, avec sa vaste collection d'antiquités classiques ; et la British Library, la plus grande bibliothèque nationale du monde.

Le module obligatoire et chaque module optionnel sont examinés par un essai de 5000-5500 mots. Tu rédiges également une dissertation de 15 000-16 000 mots. Chaque module a une obligation de présence, tu devras donc assister à au moins 60% des cours pour réussir.

Conditions d'entrée / Admissions

Conditions pour les étudiants internationaux / Conditions d'anglais

Score du test académique IELTS (des tests similaires peuvent également être acceptés)

    • 6.5
    • Mphil / PhD

Si l'anglais n'est pas ta première langue ou si tu n'as pas étudié en anglais auparavant, l'exigence pour ce cours est l'équivalent d'un score de 7,0 au test académique du système international d'évaluation de la langue anglaise (IELTS), avec au moins 6,5 dans chaque o.
Vous ne remplissez pas les conditions minimales requises en termes de score UCAS, de niveaux A ou de langue anglaise ?
Obtenez des conseils sur les cours de base qui sont les meilleurs pour vous permettre de rejoindre Early Modern History, MA.

Un diplôme avec mention de deuxième classe (2:2 ou plus) et des références. Nous proposons un certificat d'études supérieures en histoire d'un an, qui peut être utilisé comme cours de conversion si tu veux étudier l'histoire au niveau du troisième cycle, mais que tu as un diplôme dans une discipline sensiblement différente. Les candidatures sont examinées selon leurs mérites individuels et tes qualifications professionnelles et/ou ton expérience professionnelle pertinente seront prises en compte de manière positive. Nous soutenons et encourageons activement les candidatures des apprenants adultes.

Exigences en matière de visa pour les étudiants internationaux

Obligation de visa

Tous les étudiants internationaux (y compris les citoyens des pays de l'UE) qui ont l'intention d'étudier ce programme ou tout autre programme académique de plus de 6 mois au Royaume-Uni ont besoin d'un visa d'étudiant.

Les étudiants internationaux âgés de moins de 18 ans doivent obtenir un visa spécial d'étudiant pour enfant. Des exceptions à cette règle générale peuvent s'appliquer aux titulaires d'autres visas de travail britanniques, du visa national britannique d'outre-mer, du visa de membre de la famille et aux réfugiés ou demandeurs d'asile reconnus.

Permission de travailler pendant les études

Birkbeck College, University of London est répertorié par le gouvernement britannique comme une institution autorisée à parrainer des étudiants migrants.

Les titulaires d'un visa d'étudiant des établissements agréés ont le droit de travailler pendant leurs études de licence, de master ou de doctorat à temps plein à raison de
- 20h/semaine pendant le trimestre
- à temps plein en dehors du trimestre (par exemple, pendant les vacances, les stages, une fois les cours terminés).

Après avoir terminé un programme de licence ou de master d'au moins 12 mois, les titulaires d'un visa d'étudiant d'un établissement agréé peuvent convertir leur visa en un visa de diplômé qui leur permet de travailler pendant deux ans au Royaume-Uni.

Coûts

Frais de scolarité Histoire moderne précoce MA

Angleterre £4515 Année 1
Irlande du Nord (UK) £4515 Année 1
Écosse £4515 Année 1
Pays de Galles £4515 Année 1
International £8190 Année 1

Informations supplémentaires sur les frais

Les étudiants doivent payer des frais de scolarité pour chaque année de leur programme. Les frais de scolarité des étudiants qui poursuivent leur programme les années suivantes peuvent être soumis à des augmentations annuelles liées à l'inflation.

Coût de la vie moyen des étudiants en Londres

Loyer£518
Eau, gaz, électricité, internet (à la maison)£50
Courses au supermarché£81
Vêtements£35
Manger au restaurant£33
Alcool£27
Plats à emporter / livraisons de nourriture£30
Sorties / divertissements (hors alcool, nourriture)£24
Vacances et voyages de week-end£78
Transport dans la ville£17
Soins personnels / sports£20
Papeterie/livres£13
Téléphone portable/Internet£13
Télévision avec câble / Streaming£7
Assurance£51
Autres£1092
Coût moyen de la vie étudiante£95

Londres coûte environ 34 % de plus que la moyenne, principalement parce que les loyers sont 67 % plus élevés que la moyenne des autres villes. Pour les étudiants logeant dans des résidences universitaires, les coûts de l'eau, du gaz, de l'électricité et du wifi sont généralement inclus dans le loyer. Dans les petites villes où le logement se trouve à distance de marche ou de vélo, les coûts de transport ont tendance à être nettement moins élevés.

Classements Universitaires

Classement de Birkbeck, University of London dans les principaux classements britanniques et mondiaux.

Tous les classements des universités de Birkbeck, University of London

Ce que disent les étudiants de leurs études sur Histoire moderne au Royaume-Uni?

  • Study Tips for Modern History

À propos de Birkbeck, University of London

Birkbeck, Université de Londres (BBK) a été créée en 1823 et adopte une position différente de celle de nombreuses autres universités en matière d'admission. Les candidats sont encouragés par BKK à postuler même s'ils ne possèdent pas les qualifications traditionnelles normalement requises, car les candidatures sont également examinées sur la base d'une évaluation de vos connaissances sur le sujet et de toute expérience professionnelle que vous pourriez avoir. Situés en plein centre de Londres, les étudiants bénéficieront de tous les avantages des transports en commun de la ville, ainsi que de la possibilité de vivre dans une ville aussi diverse et dynamique, avec tout ce qu'elle offre.

  • Stella’s Starting Study Vlog
  • Top reasons why students choose Birkbeck, University of London
  • “How has the Birkbeck experience been for you?”
  • Birkbeck's Student Experience
  • Studying for a PhD at Birkbeck - Veronika Akhmadieva

Où ce programme est-il enseigné ?

Main Site - Malet Street
map marker Afficher sur la carte

Cours similaires

Programme Université Satisfaction élève­ Chômage­ Laisse tomber­ Frais de scolarité (Inter­national) Tarifs UCAS Ville
Cardiff University 64% 0% 7% £18700 142 Cardiff Oncampus À plein temps
Aberystwyth University 92% 5% 0% £14300 116 Aberystwyth Oncampus À plein temps
University of Essex 78% 0% 10% £16850 116 Colchester Oncampus À plein temps
University of Southampton 94% 0% 0% £19300 148 Southampton Oncampus À plein temps
University of Essex 86% 0% 6% £16850 104 Colchester Oncampus À plein temps
University of Southampton 94% 0% 0% £19300 148 Southampton Oncampus À plein temps
Farnborough College of Technology - - - £13000 - Farnborough Oncampus À plein temps
The University of Manchester 64% 0% 7% - 142 Manchester Oncampus À plein temps
University of Essex 78% 0% 10% - 116 Colchester Oncampus À plein temps
The University of Manchester 67% 3% 3% - 158 Manchester Oncampus À plein temps

Birkbeck, University of London
Early Modern History MA
Birkbeck, University of London

Course modalities offered

Key Course Facts

Course Description

Our MA Early Modern History explores early modern European societies in the period from the Renaissance to the Reformation and on to the Enlightenment and the outbreak of the French Revolution. One of its most exciting and distinguishing features is that it considers developments in Britain, continental Europe (notably Italy, Germany and France) and the wider world in comparative perspective, which brings into question the idea of the distinctive nature of national histories.

Some of the key themes you will study are the impact of religious conflict, economic and social developments, government and social order, the growth of urban settlements, population and demographic change, the mutual interactions between Europe and the Americas, and the growth of state power.

You will be able to choose option modules in early modern history from across the Department of History, Classics and Archaeology, and you will receive training in historical methodologies and research techniques to help you research and write a dissertation on the subject that most interests you.

You will read widely in both secondary works and translated primary sources, but there is no language requirement.

Highlights

  • Our Department of History, Classics and Archaeology is an international centre of excellence. Since 2001 we have consistently been in the top ten departments evaluated by the Research Excellence Framework (REF).

  • Our research is unique in its range across geographical and chronological boundaries. We are the only university department in London to include historians, classicists and archaeologists investigating every period from prehistory to the early twenty-first century. We see the study of the past as crucial for our understanding of present-day society, culture and politics.

  • All master’s students are eligible to apply for our prestigious Eric Hobsbawm Scholarships, subject to availability. One of the most influential historians of the twentieth century, Eric Hobsbawm taught at Birkbeck for over five decades and embodied what is central to our teaching and research: a continued commitment to critical enquiry and public engagement.

  • We are at the heart of academic London with access to unparalleled research resources. Situated very close by are: the Institute of Classical Studies, with its library, training facilities and seminars; the British Museum, with its extensive collection of classical antiquities; and the British Library, the largest national library in the world.

The compulsory module and each option module are examined by a 5000-5500-word essay. You also write a dissertation of 15,000-16,000 words. Every module has an attendance requirement, so you will need to attend at least 60% of classes in order to pass.

Entry Requirements / Admissions

Requirements for international students / English requirements

IELTS academic test score (similar tests may be accepted as well)

    • 6.5
    • Mphil / PhD

If English is not your first language or you have not previously studied in English, the requirement for this course is the equivalent of an International English Language Testing System (IELTS Academic Test) score of 7.0, with not less than 6.5 in each o
Do you not fulfill the minimum requirements in terms of UCAS score, A levels, or English language requirements?
Get advice on which foundation courses are best for you to still be able to join Early Modern History, MA.

A second-class honours degree (2:2 or above) and references. We offer a one-year Graduate Certificate in History, which can be used as a conversion course if you want to study history at postgraduate level, but have a degree in a significantly different discipline. Applications are reviewed on their individual merits and your professional qualifications and/or relevant work experience will be taken into consideration positively. We actively support and encourage applications from mature learners.

Visa Requirements for International Students

Visa requirement

All international students (including citizens from EU countries) intending to study this or any other academic programme for more than 6 months in the UK require a Student Visa.

International students younger than 18 years require a special Child Student Visa. Exceptions from this general rule may apply to holders of other UK work visas, British National Overseas visa, family member visa and recognised refugees or asylum seekers.

Permission to work while studying

Birkbeck College, University of London is listed by the UK government as an institution licensed to sponsor migrant students.

Student visa holders from licensed institutions are entitled to work during their full-time bachelor's, master's or Phd studies for
- 20h/week during the term
- Full-time outside term time (e.g. vacations, work placements, once course ended)

After completion of a bachelor's or master's programme of at least 12 months Student Visa holders of licensed institutions can convert their visa into a Graduate Visa which entitles graduates to work for 2 years in the UK.

Costs

Tuition Fees Early Modern History MA

England UK £4515 year 1
Northern Ireland £4515 year 1
Scotland £4515 year 1
Wales £4515 year 1
International £8190 year 1

Additional fee information

Students are charged a tuition fee in each year of their programme. Tuition fees for students continuing on their programme in following years may be subject to annual inflationary increases.

Average student cost of living in London

Rent £518
Water, gas electricity, internet (at home) £50
Supermarket shopping £81
Clothing £35
Eating out £33
Alcohol £27
Takeaways / food deliveries £30
Going out / entertainment (excl.alcohol, food) £24
Holidays and weekend trips £78
Transport within city £17
Self-care / sports £20
Stationary / books £13
Mobile phone / internet £13
Cable TV / streaming £7
Insurance £51
Other £95
  
Average student cost of living £1092

London costs approx 34% more than average, mainly due to rent being 67% higher than average of other cities. For students staying in student halls, costs of water, gas, electricity, wifi are generally included in the rental. Students in smaller cities where accommodation is in walking/biking distance transport costs tend to be significantly smaller.

University Rankings

Positions of Birkbeck, University of London in top UK and global rankings.

See all university rankings of Birkbeck, University of London

What students say about studying Modern History in the UK?

  • Study Tips for Modern History

About Birkbeck, University of London

Birkbeck, University of London (BBK) was established in 1823, and takes a different stance towards admissions than many other universities. Applicants are encouraged by BKK to apply even if they don’t possess the traditional qualifications normally required, as applications here are also considered based on an assessment of your knowledge on the subject, and any work experience you might have. Being located in the very centre of London, students will have all the advantages of the city’s public transport connections, as well as the chance to live in such a diverse and vibrant city with all that it offers.

  • Stella’s Starting Study Vlog
  • Top reasons why students choose Birkbeck, University of London
  • “How has the Birkbeck experience been for you?”
  • Birkbeck's Student Experience
  • Studying for a PhD at Birkbeck - Veronika Akhmadieva

Where is this programme taught

Main Site - Malet Street
map marker Show on map

Similar courses

Program University Student satis­faction Unem­ployed Drop­out Tuition (UK) Tuition (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff City
Cardiff University 64% 0% 7% £9000 £18700 142 Cardiff On campus Full-time
Aberystwyth University 92% 5% 0% £9000 £14300 116 Aberystwyth On campus Full-time
University of Essex 78% 0% 10% £9250 £16850 116 Colchester On campus Full-time
University of Southampton 94% 0% 0% £9250 £19300 148 Southampton On campus Full-time
University of Essex 78% 0% 10% £9250 £16850 116 Colchester On campus Full-time
University of Southampton 94% 0% 0% £9250 £19300 148 Southampton On campus Full-time
Farnborough College of Technology - - - £9000 £13000 - Farnborough On campus Full-time
The University of Manchester 64% 0% 7% - - 142 Manchester On campus Full-time
University of Essex 78% 0% 10% £9250 - 116 Colchester On campus Full-time
The University of Manchester 67% 3% 3% - - 158 Manchester On campus Full-time