Brunel University
Kreatives Schreiben MA
Brunel University

Angebotene Kursmodalitäten

Fakten zum Kurs

Kursbeschreibung

Unser MA-Studiengang Kreatives Schreiben vermittelt dir ein breites Spektrum an fortgeschrittenen Fähigkeiten im kreativen Schreiben und eine akademische Anerkennung für deine kreative Arbeit.

Der Unterricht wird von einigen der talentiertesten und originellsten Autorinnen und Autoren durchgeführt, die heute arbeiten. Zusammen haben sie über 100 Bücher veröffentlicht, unzählige Drehbücher für Fernsehen, Radio und Film verfasst und zig Preise gewonnen. Zum Team gehören Bernardine Evaristo, die 2019 den renommiertesten Romanpreis der Welt, den Booker Prize, für ihren Sunday Times Nr. 1-Bestseller "Girl, Woman, Other" erhalten hat, und der bekannte Performance-Poet, Schriftsteller und Rundfunksprecher Benjamin Zephaniah. Neben dem "allgemeinen" Programm gibt es auch ein spezielles Programm zum Schreiben von Romanen.

Allgemein: Aufbau eines fortgeschrittenen Wissens über die aktuelle Theorie und Praxis des Schreibens in der Gemeinschaft und Entwicklung eines Verständnisses für die Rolle des Schriftstellers in Kunstinitiativen und der Kreativwirtschaft. Der Roman: Erhalte einen tieferen Einblick in die Struktur eines Romans und entwickle die Techniken, um eine Vielzahl von Romanformen und Genres auf professionellem Niveau kritisch zu beurteilen. Du hast den Vorteil, dass Brunel in der Nähe von London, der literarischen Hauptstadt Großbritanniens, liegt. Du wirst von Ausflügen zur British Library, zum Shakespeare's Globe und zu den West End Theatern profitieren. Du wirst auch Gastvorträge hören, die verschiedene Aspekte des kreativen Schreibens behandeln. Zu den fachkundigen Referenten gehören Buchverleger, Drehbuchautoren, Dichter und Rundfunksprecher. Dein schriftstellerisches Talent kannst du auch bei verschiedenen Veranstaltungen von Brunel unter Beweis stellen, darunter Gedichte, Theaterstücke, Comedy- und Filmvorführungen, literarische Debatten und die beliebte Brunel Writers' Series. Unser MA in kreativem Schreiben kann in Vollzeit über ein Jahr oder in Teilzeit über zwei Jahre studiert werden.

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen / Zulassungen

Anforderungen für internationale Studierende / Englisch-Anforderungen

Academic IELTS Testergebnis (ähnliche Tests können ebenfalls akzeptiert werden)

    • 6.5
    • All other courses
    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees Arts, Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
    • 7.0
    • Graduate Degrees Law
    • 6.0
    • Graduate Degrees Science, Technology and IT
    • 6.5
    • Undergraduate Degrees Arts, Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
    • 6.5
    • Undergraduate Degrees Law
    • 6.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees Science, Technology and IT

Jedes Jahr bietet die Brunel University London mehr als 600 Stipendien, Stipendien und Ermäßigungen für einheimische, EU- und internationale Studierende an. Um dich zu bewerben, musst du ein Angebot für einen unserer Studiengänge erhalten und den entsprechenden Antrag eingereicht haben. Bitte besuche unsere Website, um mehr zu erfahren. https://www.brunel.ac.uk/scholarships
Lass dich beraten, welche Grundkurse für dich am besten geeignet sind, um trotzdem zu studieren Creative Writing, MA. Wenn du die Mindestanforderungen in Bezug auf UCAS-Punkte, A-Levels oder Englischkenntnisse nicht erfüllst.

Einen britischen Abschluss mit 2,2 (oder besser) in Englischer Literatur (auch wenn Englische Literatur ein Hauptfach im Abschluss ist) und Kreatives Schreiben oder eine gleichwertige international anerkannte Qualifikation.

Oder

Einen britischen Abschluss mit 2,2 (oder besser) in einem anderen Fach (oder einen gleichwertigen international anerkannten Abschluss) oder eine andere Qualifikation/einschlägige berufliche oder praktische Erfahrung. Bewerber/innen, die keinen 2.2-Abschluss in Englischer Literatur oder Kreativem Schreiben haben, müssen zusätzlich eine Probe ihres kreativen Schreibens einreichen. Dabei sollte es sich um eine 2000 bis 3000 Seiten lange Probe handeln, z. B. Kurzgeschichten, einen in Arbeit befindlichen Roman, Gedichte, Drehbücher oder Zeitungsartikel. Die Schreibprobe sollte für den Bildungsgang, für den du dich bewirbst, relevant sein. Wenn du dich zum Beispiel für den Studiengang Lyrik bewirbst, solltest du eine Reihe von Gedichten einreichen. Diese sollten die entsprechenden Fähigkeiten und das Engagement für kreatives Schreiben zeigen und mit deiner Bewerbung eingereicht werden.

Kosten

Durchschnittliche Lebenshaltungskosten für Studenten in Großbritannien

Miete £518
Wasser, Gas, Strom, Internet (zu Hause) £50
Einkaufen im Supermarkt £81
Kleidung £35
Auswärts essen £33
Alkohol £27
Imbissbuden / Lebensmittellieferungen £30
Ausgehen / Unterhaltung (ohne Alkohol, Essen) £24
Urlaub und Wochenendausflüge £78
Transport innerhalb der Stadt £17
Selbstfürsorge/Sport £20
Schreibwaren/Bücher £13
Mobiltelefon/Internet £13
Kabelfernsehen/Streaming £7
Versicherung £51
Sonstiges £95
   
Durchschnittliche Lebenshaltungskosten für Studenten £1092

London kostet ca. 34 % mehr als der Durchschnitt, was hauptsächlich darauf zurückzuführen ist, dass die Mieten 67 % höher sind als in anderen Städten. Bei Studenten, die in Studentenwohnheimen wohnen, sind die Kosten für Wasser, Gas, Strom und WLAN im Allgemeinen in der Miete enthalten. Für Studierende in kleineren Städten, in denen die Unterkunft zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad erreichbar ist, sind die Kosten in der Regel deutlich geringer.

Über Brunel University

Die 1957 gegründete Brunel University befindet sich in einem Vorort der großen Stadt Uxbridge in London. Aufgrund der Lage der Universität verfügt die Brunel University über zahlreiche öffentliche Verkehrsverbindungen nach London, die die Studierenden nutzen, um ihre Möglichkeiten in Bezug auf Praktika zu erweitern. Die Zulassungsquote ist niedriger als an vielen anderen Universitäten, daher sollten die Bewerbenden ihre persönliche Stellungnahme und ihr Vorstellungsgespräch gut vorbereiten, wenn sie sich hier einschreiben wollen.

Liste der 270 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge von Brunel University - Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Die Zusammensetzung der Studierenden in Brunel University

Studienanfänger:
11215
Postgraduierte:
4730
Gesamt:
15945
  • Brunel campus life: Union of Brunel Students
  • Brunel campus life: Brunel International and London Brunel International College
  • Creative Writing BA | Brunel University London
  • Being an international student | Brunel University London
  • Education BA | Brunel University London
  • Education students discuss their careers and futures | Brunel University London

Wo wird dieses Programm unterrichtet

Brunel University London
map marker Auf Karte anzeigen

Ähnliche Kurse

Programm Universität Zufrieden­heit Arbeits­los Ab­brecher­quote Studien­gebühren (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff Stadt
English with Creative Writing MA (Hons) University of Aberdeen 79% 5% 10% £21900 £20800 177 Aberdeen Oncampus Vollzeit
English and Creative Writing MA (Hons) University of Dundee - - - £20900 - Dundee Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing (Non-Fiction) MA University of East Anglia - - - £21200 - Norwich Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MA University of Portsmouth - - - £18100 - Portsmouth Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MLitt University of Aberdeen - - - £23800 - Aberdeen Oncampus Vollzeit
MA Creative Writing MA University of Reading - - - £22350 - Reading Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MA Durham University - - - £24750 - Durham Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MA Bath Spa University - - - £17645 - Bath Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MA Swansea University - - - £17500 £18400 - Swansea Oncampus Vollzeit
Creative Writing MA University of Greenwich - - - £17450 - London Oncampus Vollzeit

Brunel University
Creative Writing MA
Brunel University

Course modalities offered

Key Course Facts

Course Description

Our Creative Writing MA degree is designed to equip you with a broad range of advanced creative writing skills and academic accreditation for your creative work.

Teaching is delivered by some of the most talented and original writers working today. Between them they have published over 100 books, produced countless scripts for TV, radio and film, and won umpteen awards. The team includes Bernardine Evaristo, 2019 winner of the world’s most prestigious prize for the novel, the Booker Prize, for her Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling novel, Girl, Woman, Other and renowned performance poet, writer and broadcaster Benjamin Zephaniah. As well as the stand-alone ‘general’ programme, there is the more specialised Novel writing pathway.

General: Build an advanced knowledge on the current theory and practice of writing in the community and develop an understanding of the role of the writer in arts initiatives and creative industries. The Novel: Gain a deeper insight into the structure of a novel and develop the techniques to critically assess a variety of novel forms and genres at a professional industry level. You have the advantage of Brunel’s close location to London, the literary capital of the UK. You’ll benefit from trips to the British Library, Shakespeare’s Globe and West End theatres. You'll also get to hear from guest lectures covering different aspects of creative writing. Industry expert speakers include book publishers, screenwriters, poets and broadcasters. Your writing talent can also be showcased at a variety of performances hosted by Brunel including poetry, plays, comedy and film screenings, literary debates, and the popular Brunel Writers’ Series. Our MA in creative writing can be studied full-time over one year or part-time over two years.

Entry Requirements / Admissions

Requirements for international students / English requirements

IELTS academic test score (similar tests may be accepted as well)

    • 6.5
    • All other courses
    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees Arts, Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
    • 7.0
    • Graduate Degrees Law
    • 6.0
    • Graduate Degrees Science, Technology and IT
    • 6.5
    • Undergraduate Degrees Arts, Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
    • 6.5
    • Undergraduate Degrees Law
    • 6.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees Science, Technology and IT

Every year Brunel University London offers over 600 scholarships, bursaries and discounts to home, EU and international students. To apply you will need to have received an offer on one of our courses and submitted the relevant application. Please visit our website to discover more. https://www.brunel.ac.uk/scholarships

Get advice on which foundation courses are best for you to still study Creative Writing, MA, if you do not meet the minimum requirements in terms of UCAS score, A levels, or English language requirements.

A 2.2 (or above) UK honours degree in English Literature (including where English Literature is a major in the degree) and Creative writing, or equivalent internationally recognised qualification. **Or** A 2.2 (or above) UK honours degree in any other subject (or equivalent internationally recognised qualification) or other qualification / relevant professional or practical experience. In addition to this, applicants who do not hold a 2.2 degree in English Literature or Creative Writing must also submit a sample of their creative writing. This should be a 2000 to 3000 sample of one of: short stories; a novel-in-progress; poems; film scripts; or articles for newspapers. The writing sample should be relevant to the pathway you are applying for. For example, if you are applying to the Poetry pathway you should submit a college of poems. These should demonstrate appropriate ability and commitment to creative writing and should be submitted with your application.

Costs

Average student cost of living in the UK

Rent £518
Water, gas electricity, internet (at home) £50
Supermarket shopping £81
Clothing £35
Eating out £33
Alcohol £27
Takeaways / food deliveries £30
Going out / entertainment (excl.alcohol, food) £24
Holidays and weekend trips £78
Transport within city £17
Self-care / sports £20
Stationary / books £13
Mobile phone / internet £13
Cable TV / streaming £7
Insurance £51
Other £95
  
Average student cost of living £1092

London costs approx 34% more than average, mainly due to rent being 67% higher than average of other cities. For students staying in student halls, costs of water, gas, electricity, wifi are generally included in the rental. Students in smaller cities where accommodation is in walking/biking distance transport costs tend to be significantly smaller.

University Rankings

Positions of Brunel University in top UK and global rankings.

See all 30 university rankings of Brunel University

About Brunel University

Established in 1957, Brunel University is located in the large town of Uxbridge, in suburban London. Thanks to its location, Brunel University has numerous public transport connections to London, which students make use of for expanding their options when it comes to work experience placements. The admission rate is lower than in many universities, so applicants should prepare their personal statements and interviews well when applying to enrol here.

List of 270 Bachelor and Master Courses from Brunel University - Course Catalogue

Student composition of Brunel University

undergraduates:
11215
postgraduates:
4730
Total:
15945
  • Brunel campus life: Union of Brunel Students
  • Brunel campus life: Brunel International and London Brunel International College
  • Creative Writing BA | Brunel University London
  • Being an international student | Brunel University London
  • Education BA | Brunel University London
  • Education students discuss their careers and futures | Brunel University London

Where is this programme taught

Brunel University London
map marker Show on map

Similar courses

Program University Student satis­faction Unem­ployed Drop­out Tuition (UK) Tuition (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff City
English with Creative Writing MA (Hons) University of Aberdeen - 5% 10% £9250 £21900 £20800 177 Aberdeen On campus Full-time
English and Creative Writing MA (Hons) University of Dundee - - - £9250 £20900 - Dundee On campus Full-time
Creative Writing (Non-Fiction) MA University of East Anglia - - - £9975 £21200 - Norwich On campus Full-time
Creative Writing MA University of Portsmouth - - - £8200 £18100 - Portsmouth On campus Full-time
Creative Writing MLitt University of Aberdeen - - - £11100 £23800 - Aberdeen On campus Full-time
Writing for Stage and Broadcast Media MFA (PG) Royal Central School of Speech and Drama - - - £11550 £22050 - London On campus Full-time
MA Creative Writing MA University of Reading - - - £10800 £22350 - Reading On campus Full-time
Creative Writing MA Durham University - - - £11750 £24750 - Durham On campus Full-time
Creative Writing MA Bath Spa University - - - £9055 £17645 - Bath On campus Full-time
Art Writing MLitt Glasgow School of Art - - - £8820 £22679 - Glasgow On campus Part-time