University of Oxford
Genomische Medizin und Statistik DPhil
University of Oxford

Fakten zum Kurs

Kursbeschreibung

Die Informationen auf dieser Seite waren zum Zeitpunkt der Veröffentlichung (Oktober/November 2021) korrekt.<MS&&> Für vollständige und aktuelle Informationen zu diesem Kurs besuche bitte die entsprechende Kursseite der University of Oxford über <MW&&>www.graduate.ox.ac.uk/ucas.</MW&&>

Dieses vierjährige DPhil-Programm zielt darauf ab, künftige Führungskräfte in der Anwendung der Genomik auszubilden und zu fördern, um die menschliche Gesundheit voranzubringen. Es stattet sie mit Fähigkeiten aus, die die experimentelle und analytische Genomik umfassen, um das Potenzial der Genomik auszuschöpfen und die Qualitäten einer fairen und inspirierenden Führung zu praktizieren, die wir während des Kurses vermitteln werden</MS&&>.

Dieser Kurs nimmt an einem fortlaufenden Pilotprogramm zur Verbesserung des Bewertungsverfahrens für Bewerbungen von Hochschulabsolventen teil, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Bewerber fair bewertet werden. Für diesen Kurs werden die sozioökonomischen Daten, die du im Bewerbungsformular angibst, bei der Vorauswahl und der Entscheidungsfindung berücksichtigt, sofern sie angegeben wurden. Bitte lies die Anweisungen zur Einreichung deines Lebenslaufs im Abschnitt "Wie bewerbe ich mich" auf dieser Seite sowie die vollständigen Informationen zu diesem Pilotprojekt sorgfältig durch.

Das erste Jahr umfasst Lehrmodule, die sich auf das erste Semester konzentrieren. Anschließend führen die Studierenden im ersten Jahr kurze Forschungsprojekte in bis zu drei Laboratorien durch, die im dreimonatigen Wechsel besucht werden. Die Forschungsprojekte und Laborbesuche helfen bei der Auswahl des DPhil-Projekts, das in den folgenden drei Jahren des Programms durchgeführt wird. Die letzten drei Jahre des Studiengangs umfassen die Doktorarbeit unter der Aufsicht von zwei benannten Betreuern und einem Doktorandenausschuss. Bewerbern wird empfohlen, die Webseite des Doctoral Training Centre zu besuchen, um weitere Informationen über die mit diesem Programm verbundenen Betreuer zu erhalten.

Der Studiengang bemüht sich aktiv um Studierende mit sehr unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, der von Genetik bis zu reiner Mathematik reicht, die aber durch ihre akademischen Spitzenleistungen und ihren Enthusiasmus für dieses Gebiet vereint sind. Die Studierenden erhalten eine erstklassige Ausbildung, Supervision, Mentorenschaft und pastorale Unterstützung. Die Förderung von Exzellenz in der Forschungskultur liegt allen Aspekten des Programms zugrunde, mit der Verpflichtung, Kreativität zu unterstützen, Vielfalt und Inklusion zu priorisieren und beste Praktiken zu fördern.

Modulinformationen Das Programm konzentriert sich auf die folgenden Themen:

  • genomische und -omische Technologien (einschließlich Methodenentwicklung, Einzelzellgenomik, Bildgebung, Modellsysteme, CRISPR-Screens, Genome Engineering, Proteomik, Metabolomik, Hochdurchsatzscreening)

  • Funktionelle Genomik (Genregulation und Epigenetik)

  • Genombiologie (genetische Variation, Rekombination, menschliche Geschichte, Evolution, Paläogenomik, Pathogengenome)

  • Genomik von Krankheiten (Mendelsche, multifaktorielle Merkmale, Krebs)

  • genomische Analyse (Bioinformatik und statistische Genetik)

  • von den Genen zum klinischen Wirksamkeitsnachweis (integrierte Arzneimittelentwicklungspipeline, die die Entdeckung von genetischen Zielstrukturen, Strukturbiologie und medizinische Chemie umfasst)

  • Anwendung der Genomik in der Klinik (Diagnostik seltener Krankheiten, Krebstherapien, personalisierte Medizin und Genomtherapien).

Die Lehrmodule kombinieren theoretischen und praktischen Unterricht und werden durch das Medical Sciences Doctoral Training Centre ergänzt.

Lehren und Lernen Der Unterrichtsteil des Kurses wird von erfahrenen Dozenten durchgeführt, zu denen auch erfahrene Principal Investigators und Postdoktoranden gehören. Die Klassengröße für die Lehrmodule liegt je nach Format und Inhalt zwischen 5 und 20 Teilnehmern (geschätzter Mittelwert: 12 Teilnehmer). Peer-to-Peer und selbstständiges Lernen werden ebenfalls gefördert. Die Laborpraktika werden von einem namentlich genannten Principal Investigator betreut. Das Arbeitspensum entspricht dem einer Vollzeitbeschäftigung.

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen / Zulassungen

Anforderungen für internationale Studierende / Englisch-Anforderungen

Academic IELTS Testergebnis (ähnliche Tests können ebenfalls akzeptiert werden)

    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees
    • 7.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees
    • (no subscore less than 6.0)
Lass dich beraten, welche Grundkurse für dich am besten geeignet sind, um trotzdem zu studieren Genomic Medicine and Statistics, DPhil. Wenn du die Mindestanforderungen in Bezug auf UCAS-Punkte, A-Levels oder Englischkenntnisse nicht erfüllst.

Kosten

Durchschnittliche Lebenshaltungskosten für Studenten in Großbritannien

Miete £518
Wasser, Gas, Strom, Internet (zu Hause) £50
Einkaufen im Supermarkt £81
Kleidung £35
Auswärts essen £33
Alkohol £27
Imbissbuden / Lebensmittellieferungen £30
Ausgehen / Unterhaltung (ohne Alkohol, Essen) £24
Urlaub und Wochenendausflüge £78
Transport innerhalb der Stadt £17
Selbstfürsorge/Sport £20
Schreibwaren/Bücher £13
Mobiltelefon/Internet £13
Kabelfernsehen/Streaming £7
Versicherung £51
Sonstiges £95
   
Durchschnittliche Lebenshaltungskosten für Studenten £1092

London kostet ca. 34 % mehr als der Durchschnitt, was hauptsächlich darauf zurückzuführen ist, dass die Mieten 67 % höher sind als in anderen Städten. Bei Studenten, die in Studentenwohnheimen wohnen, sind die Kosten für Wasser, Gas, Strom und WLAN im Allgemeinen in der Miete enthalten. Für Studierende in kleineren Städten, in denen die Unterkunft zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad erreichbar ist, sind die Kosten in der Regel deutlich geringer.

Hochschulrankings

Rankings von University of Oxford in führenden britischen und weltweiten Rankings.

Siehe alle 39 Hochschulrankings von University of Oxford

Über University of Oxford

Die University of Oxford ist eine renommierte Forschungsuniversität in Oxford, England, und die älteste englischsprachige Universität der Welt. Sie besteht aus 39 teilweise autonomen Colleges, sechs Privathäusern und einer Vielzahl von akademischen Abteilungen, die in vier Bereiche unterteilt sind: Geisteswissenschaften, mathematische, physikalische und Biowissenschaften, medizinische Wissenschaften und Sozialwissenschaften.

Liste der 389 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge von University of Oxford - Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Die Zusammensetzung der Studierenden in University of Oxford

Studienanfänger:
12425
Postgraduierte:
9785
Gesamt:
22210
  • Official Guide for an Oxford Applicant: Undergraduate (1/3) – What Oxford is Like
  • Our student stories – finding a place
  • Aula Education: Anders' advice for Economics & Management students
  • I am African, and Oxford was for me: Oxford MBA
  • The Master of Public Policy at Oxford (MPP)
  • How has Oxford changed you?

Wo wird dieses Programm unterrichtet

University of Oxford
map marker Auf Karte anzeigen

Ähnliche Kurse

Programm Universität Zufrieden­heit Arbeits­los Ab­brecher­quote Studien­gebühren (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff Stadt
Computational Statistics and Data Science: Compass PhD University of Bristol - - - £25300 - Bristol Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics MSc (Res) University of Kent - - - £13810 - Canterbury Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics PhD - - - - - - Oncampus Teilzeit
Statistics PhD The London School of Economics and Political Science - - - - - London Oncampus Vollzeit
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - Oxford Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics and Machine Learning (EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training) DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - Oxford Oncampus Vollzeit
Social Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics and Operational Research (STOR-i) PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Oncampus Vollzeit
Statistics PhD Newcastle University - - - - - Newcastle Oncampus Teilzeit

University of Oxford
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil
University of Oxford

Key Course Facts

Course Description

The information provided on this page was correct at the time of publication (October/November 2021).<MS&&> For complete and up-to-date information about this course, please visit the relevant University of Oxford course page via <MW&&>www.graduate.ox.ac.uk/ucas.</MW&&>

This four-year DPhil programme aims to train and nurture future leaders in the application of genomics to advance human health, equipping them with skill sets spanning experimental and analytical genomic science in order to realise the potential of genomics and practice the qualities of fair and inspiring leadership that we will instil during the course</MS&&>.

This course is taking part in a continuing pilot programme to improve the assessment procedure for graduate applications, in order to ensure that all candidates are evaluated fairly. For this course, the socio-economic data you provide in the application form will be used to contextualise the shortlisting and decision-making processes where it has been provided. Please carefully read the instructions concerning submission of your CV/résumé in the How to apply section of this page, as well as the full details about this pilot.

The first year includes taught modules focused within the first term. First-year students then undertake short research projects in up to three laboratories in three-month rotations, with further training and teaching sessions tailored to the needs of individual students. The research projects and lab visits help inform the choice of DPhil project to be undertaken over the subsequent three years of the programme. The final three years of the course will comprise doctoral research under the supervision of two named supervisors and a doctoral committee. Applicants are advised to visit the Doctoral Training Centre course webpage for further information about supervisors connected to this programme.

The programme actively seeks to recruit students from very diverse backgrounds, ranging from genetics to pure maths but united by a track record of academic excellence and enthusiasm for this field. Students receive world-class training, supervision, mentorship and pastoral support. Promoting excellence in research culture underlies all aspects of the programme with a commitment to support creativity, prioritise diversity and inclusion, and promote best practice.

Module information The programme is focused on the following themes:

  • genomic and -omic technologies (including method development, single cell genomics, imaging, model systems, CRISPR screens, genome engineering, proteomics, metabolomics, high throughput screening)

  • functional genomics (gene regulation and epigenetics)

  • genome biology (genetic variation, recombination, human history, evolution, palaeogenomics, pathogen genomes)

  • genomics of disease (Mendelian, multifactorial traits, cancer)

  • genomic analysis (bioinformatics and statistical genetics)

  • from genes to clinical proof of concept (integrated drug development pipeline spanning genetic-led target discovery, structural biology, medicinal chemistry)

  • application of genomics in the clinic (rare disease diagnostics, cancer therapeutics, personalised medicine and genome therapies).

Teaching modules combine theoretical and practical classes, with further skills training available through the Medical Sciences Doctoral Training Centre.

Teaching and learning The taught component of the course will be delivered by expert faculty including experienced principal investigators and postdoctoral scientists. Class sizes for taught modules will typically be between 5 and 20 students depending on format and content (median estimated at 12 students). Peer-to-peer and independent learning is also encouraged. Lab rotations will be under the supervision of a named principal investigator. Workload involved is commensurate with full time employment.

Entry Requirements / Admissions

Requirements for international students / English requirements

IELTS academic test score (similar tests may be accepted as well)

    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees
    • 7.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees
    • (no subscore less than 6.0)
Get advice on which foundation courses are best for you to still study Genomic Medicine and Statistics, DPhil, if you do not meet the minimum requirements in terms of UCAS score, A levels, or English language requirements.

Costs

Average student cost of living in the UK

Rent £518
Water, gas electricity, internet (at home) £50
Supermarket shopping £81
Clothing £35
Eating out £33
Alcohol £27
Takeaways / food deliveries £30
Going out / entertainment (excl.alcohol, food) £24
Holidays and weekend trips £78
Transport within city £17
Self-care / sports £20
Stationary / books £13
Mobile phone / internet £13
Cable TV / streaming £7
Insurance £51
Other £95
  
Average student cost of living £1092

London costs approx 34% more than average, mainly due to rent being 67% higher than average of other cities. For students staying in student halls, costs of water, gas, electricity, wifi are generally included in the rental. Students in smaller cities where accommodation is in walking/biking distance transport costs tend to be significantly smaller.

University Rankings

Positions of University of Oxford in top UK and global rankings.

See all 39 university rankings of University of Oxford

About University of Oxford

The University of Oxford is a prestigious research university located in Oxford, England, and is the oldest English language university in the world. It is made up of 39 partly autonomous constituent colleges, six private halls, and a variety of academic departments which are split into four divisions: Humanities, Mathematical, Physical & Life Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

List of 389 Bachelor and Master Courses from University of Oxford - Course Catalogue

Student composition of University of Oxford

undergraduates:
12425
postgraduates:
9785
Total:
22210
  • Official Guide for an Oxford Applicant: Undergraduate (1/3) – What Oxford is Like
  • Our student stories – finding a place
  • Aula Education: Anders' advice for Economics & Management students
  • I am African, and Oxford was for me: Oxford MBA
  • The Master of Public Policy at Oxford (MPP)
  • How has Oxford changed you?

Where is this programme taught

University of Oxford
map marker Show on map

Similar courses

Program University Student satis­faction Unem­ployed Drop­out Tuition (UK) Tuition (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff City
Computational Statistics and Data Science: Compass PhD University of Bristol - - - £4665 £25300 - Bristol On campus Full-time
Statistics MSc (Res) University of Kent - - - £4195 £13810 - Canterbury On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD The University of Edinburgh - - - - - - Edinburgh On campus Part-time
Statistics PhD The London School of Economics and Political Science - - - - - - London On campus Full-time
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - - Oxford On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics and Machine Learning (EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training) DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - - Oxford On campus Full-time
Social Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics and Operational Research (STOR-i) PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD Newcastle University - - - - - - Newcastle On campus Part-time