University of Oxford
Médecine génomique et statistiques DPhil
University of Oxford

Faits du cours

Course description

Les informations fournies sur cette page étaient correctes au moment de la publication (octobre/novembre 2021).Pour des informations complètes et actualisées sur ce cours, consulte la page du cours concerné de l'Université d'Oxford via <MW&&>www.graduate.ox.ac.uk/ucas.</MW&&>.

Ce programme DPhil de quatre ans a pour but de former et d'éduquer les futurs leaders dans l'application de la génomique pour faire progresser la santé humaine, en les dotant d'un ensemble de compétences couvrant la science génomique expérimentale et analytique afin de réaliser le potentiel de la génomique et de mettre en pratique les qualités de leadership équitable et inspirant que nous leur inculquerons pendant le cours</MS&&>.

Ce cours participe à un programme pilote continu visant à améliorer la procédure d'évaluation des candidatures de diplômés, afin de garantir que tous les candidats sont évalués équitablement. Pour ce cours, les données socio-économiques que tu fournis dans le formulaire de candidature seront utilisées pour contextualiser les processus de présélection et de prise de décision lorsqu'elles ont été fournies. Veuillez lire attentivement les instructions concernant l'envoi de votre CV/résumé dans la section Comment postuler de cette page, ainsi que les détails complets sur ce pilote.

La première année comprend des modules d'enseignement ciblés au cours du premier trimestre. Les étudiants de première année entreprennent ensuite de courts projets de recherche dans jusqu'à trois laboratoires par rotations de trois mois, avec des sessions de formation et d'enseignement supplémentaires adaptées aux besoins de chaque étudiant. Les projets de recherche et les visites de laboratoires aident à choisir le projet de DPhil à entreprendre au cours des trois années suivantes du programme. Les trois dernières années du cours comprendront la recherche doctorale sous la supervision de deux superviseurs désignés et d'un comité doctoral. Nous conseillons aux candidats de consulter la page Web du cours du Centre de formation doctorale pour obtenir plus d'informations sur les superviseurs liés à ce programme.

Le programme cherche activement à recruter des étudiants issus d'horizons très divers, allant de la génétique aux mathématiques pures, mais unis par un parcours d'excellence académique et un enthousiasme pour ce domaine. Les étudiants reçoivent une formation, une supervision, un mentorat et un soutien pastoral de classe mondiale. La promotion de l'excellence dans la culture de la recherche sous-tend tous les aspects du programme, avec un engagement à soutenir la créativité, à donner la priorité à la diversité et à l'inclusion, et à promouvoir les meilleures pratiques.

Informations sur le module Le programme est axé sur les thèmes suivants :

  • technologies génomiques et -omiques (y compris le développement de méthodes, la génomique unicellulaire, l'imagerie, les systèmes modèles, les écrans CRISPR, l'ingénierie du génome, la protéomique, la métabolomique, le criblage à haut débit)

  • génomique fonctionnelle (régulation des gènes et épigénétique)

  • biologie du génome (variation génétique, recombinaison, histoire humaine, évolution, paléogénomique, génomes de pathogènes)

  • génomique des maladies (traits mendéliens, multifactoriels, cancer)

  • Analyse génomique (bioinformatique et génétique statistique)

  • Des gènes à la preuve de concept clinique (pipeline intégré de développement de médicaments couvrant la découverte de cibles par la génétique, la biologie structurelle et la chimie médicinale).

  • application de la génomique en clinique (diagnostic des maladies rares, traitement du cancer, médecine personnalisée et thérapies génomiques).

Les modules d'enseignement combinent des cours théoriques et pratiques, et une formation complémentaire est disponible auprès du Centre de formation doctorale en sciences médicales.

Enseignement et apprentissage La composante enseignée du cours sera dispensée par des professeurs experts, notamment des chercheurs principaux et des scientifiques postdoctoraux expérimentés. La taille des classes pour les modules enseignés sera généralement comprise entre 5 et 20 étudiants, selon le format et le contenu (médiane estimée à 12 étudiants). L'apprentissage entre pairs et indépendant est également encouragé. Les rotations de laboratoire se feront sous la supervision d'un chercheur principal nommé. La charge de travail impliquée est proportionnelle à un emploi à temps plein.

Conditions d'entrée / Admissions

Conditions pour les étudiants internationaux / Conditions d'anglais

Score du test académique IELTS (des tests similaires peuvent également être acceptés)

    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees
    • 7.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees
    • (no subscore less than 6.0)
Obtenez des conseils sur les meilleurs cours de base pour continuer à étudier Genomic Medicine and Statistics, DPhil, si vous ne remplissez pas les conditions minimales en termes de score UCAS, de niveaux A ou d'exigences en matière de langue Anglaise.

Coûts

Coût moyen de la vie étudiante à Londres

Loyer£518
Eau, gaz, électricité, internet (à la maison)£50
Courses au supermarché£81
Vêtements£35
Manger au restaurant£33
Alcool£27
Plats à emporter / livraisons de nourriture£30
Sorties / divertissements (hors alcool, nourriture)£24
Vacances et voyages de week-end£78
Transport dans la ville£17
Soins personnels / sports£20
Papeterie/livres£13
Téléphone portable/Internet£13
Télévision avec câble / Streaming£7
Assurance£51
Autres£1092
Coût moyen de la vie étudiante£95

Londres coûte environ 34 % de plus que la moyenne, principalement parce que les loyers sont 67 % plus élevés que la moyenne des autres villes. Pour les étudiants logeant dans des résidences universitaires, les coûts de l'eau, du gaz, de l'électricité et du wifi sont généralement inclus dans le loyer. Dans les petites villes où le logement se trouve à distance de marche ou de vélo, les coûts de transport ont tendance à être nettement moins élevés.

Classements Universitaires

Classement de University of Oxford dans les principaux classements britanniques et mondiaux.

Voir tout 39 classement universitaire deUniversity of Oxford

À propos de University of Oxford

L'Université d'Oxford est une prestigieuse université de recherche située à Oxford, en Angleterre. Elle est la plus ancienne université de langue anglaise au monde. Elle se compose de 39 collèges constitutifs partiellement autonomes, de six salles privées et de divers départements académiques répartis en quatre divisions : Sciences Humaines, Sciences Mathématiques, Physiques et de la Vie, Sciences Médicales, et Sciences Sociales.

Liste des 389 cours de bachelier et de master à University of Oxford - Catalogue des cours

Composition des élèves de University of Oxford

étudiants de premier cycle:
12425
Diplômés de l'enseignement supérieur:
9785
Total:
22210
  • Official Guide for an Oxford Applicant: Undergraduate (1/3) – What Oxford is Like
  • The Master of Public Policy at Oxford (MPP)
  • How has Oxford changed you?
  • Our student stories – finding a place
  • Aula Education: Anders' advice for Economics & Management students
  • I am African, and Oxford was for me: Oxford MBA

Où ce programme est-il enseigné ?

University of Oxford
map marker Afficher sur la carte

Cours similaires

Programme Université Satisfaction élève­ Chômage­ Laisse tomber­ Frais de scolarité (Inter­national) Tarifs UCAS Ville
Statistics MSc (Res) University of Kent - - - £13810 - Canterbury Sur le campus À plein temps
Computational Statistics and Data Science: Compass PhD University of Bristol - - - £25300 - Bristol Sur le campus À plein temps
Social Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Sur le campus À plein temps
Statistics and Machine Learning (EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training) DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - Oxford Sur le campus À temps partiel
Statistics and Operational Research (STOR-i) PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Sur le campus À plein temps
Statistics PhD The University of Edinburgh - - - - - Edinburgh Sur le campus À plein temps
Statistics PhD The London School of Economics and Political Science - - - - - London Sur le campus À plein temps
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - Oxford Sur le campus À plein temps
Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - Lancaster Sur le campus À plein temps
Statistics DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - Oxford Sur le campus À plein temps

University of Oxford
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil
University of Oxford

Key Course Facts

Course Description

The information provided on this page was correct at the time of publication (October/November 2021).<MS&&> For complete and up-to-date information about this course, please visit the relevant University of Oxford course page via <MW&&>www.graduate.ox.ac.uk/ucas.</MW&&>

This four-year DPhil programme aims to train and nurture future leaders in the application of genomics to advance human health, equipping them with skill sets spanning experimental and analytical genomic science in order to realise the potential of genomics and practice the qualities of fair and inspiring leadership that we will instil during the course</MS&&>.

This course is taking part in a continuing pilot programme to improve the assessment procedure for graduate applications, in order to ensure that all candidates are evaluated fairly. For this course, the socio-economic data you provide in the application form will be used to contextualise the shortlisting and decision-making processes where it has been provided. Please carefully read the instructions concerning submission of your CV/résumé in the How to apply section of this page, as well as the full details about this pilot.

The first year includes taught modules focused within the first term. First-year students then undertake short research projects in up to three laboratories in three-month rotations, with further training and teaching sessions tailored to the needs of individual students. The research projects and lab visits help inform the choice of DPhil project to be undertaken over the subsequent three years of the programme. The final three years of the course will comprise doctoral research under the supervision of two named supervisors and a doctoral committee. Applicants are advised to visit the Doctoral Training Centre course webpage for further information about supervisors connected to this programme.

The programme actively seeks to recruit students from very diverse backgrounds, ranging from genetics to pure maths but united by a track record of academic excellence and enthusiasm for this field. Students receive world-class training, supervision, mentorship and pastoral support. Promoting excellence in research culture underlies all aspects of the programme with a commitment to support creativity, prioritise diversity and inclusion, and promote best practice.

Module information The programme is focused on the following themes:

  • genomic and -omic technologies (including method development, single cell genomics, imaging, model systems, CRISPR screens, genome engineering, proteomics, metabolomics, high throughput screening)

  • functional genomics (gene regulation and epigenetics)

  • genome biology (genetic variation, recombination, human history, evolution, palaeogenomics, pathogen genomes)

  • genomics of disease (Mendelian, multifactorial traits, cancer)

  • genomic analysis (bioinformatics and statistical genetics)

  • from genes to clinical proof of concept (integrated drug development pipeline spanning genetic-led target discovery, structural biology, medicinal chemistry)

  • application of genomics in the clinic (rare disease diagnostics, cancer therapeutics, personalised medicine and genome therapies).

Teaching modules combine theoretical and practical classes, with further skills training available through the Medical Sciences Doctoral Training Centre.

Teaching and learning The taught component of the course will be delivered by expert faculty including experienced principal investigators and postdoctoral scientists. Class sizes for taught modules will typically be between 5 and 20 students depending on format and content (median estimated at 12 students). Peer-to-peer and independent learning is also encouraged. Lab rotations will be under the supervision of a named principal investigator. Workload involved is commensurate with full time employment.

Entry Requirements / Admissions

Requirements for international students / English requirements

IELTS academic test score (similar tests may be accepted as well)

    • 6.5
    • Graduate Degrees
    • 7.0
    • Undergraduate Degrees
    • (no subscore less than 6.0)
Get advice on which foundation courses are best for you to still study Genomic Medicine and Statistics, DPhil, if you do not meet the minimum requirements in terms of UCAS score, A levels, or English language requirements.

Costs

Average student cost of living in the UK

Rent £518
Water, gas electricity, internet (at home) £50
Supermarket shopping £81
Clothing £35
Eating out £33
Alcohol £27
Takeaways / food deliveries £30
Going out / entertainment (excl.alcohol, food) £24
Holidays and weekend trips £78
Transport within city £17
Self-care / sports £20
Stationary / books £13
Mobile phone / internet £13
Cable TV / streaming £7
Insurance £51
Other £95
  
Average student cost of living £1092

London costs approx 34% more than average, mainly due to rent being 67% higher than average of other cities. For students staying in student halls, costs of water, gas, electricity, wifi are generally included in the rental. Students in smaller cities where accommodation is in walking/biking distance transport costs tend to be significantly smaller.

University Rankings

Positions of University of Oxford in top UK and global rankings.

See all 39 university rankings of University of Oxford

About University of Oxford

The University of Oxford is a prestigious research university located in Oxford, England, and is the oldest English language university in the world. It is made up of 39 partly autonomous constituent colleges, six private halls, and a variety of academic departments which are split into four divisions: Humanities, Mathematical, Physical & Life Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

List of 389 Bachelor and Master Courses from University of Oxford - Course Catalogue

Student composition of University of Oxford

undergraduates:
12425
postgraduates:
9785
Total:
22210
  • Official Guide for an Oxford Applicant: Undergraduate (1/3) – What Oxford is Like
  • Our student stories – finding a place
  • Aula Education: Anders' advice for Economics & Management students
  • I am African, and Oxford was for me: Oxford MBA
  • The Master of Public Policy at Oxford (MPP)
  • How has Oxford changed you?

Where is this programme taught

University of Oxford
map marker Show on map

Similar courses

Program University Student satis­faction Unem­ployed Drop­out Tuition (UK) Tuition (Inter­national) UCAS Tariff City
Computational Statistics and Data Science: Compass PhD University of Bristol - - - £4665 £25300 - Bristol On campus Full-time
Statistics MSc (Res) University of Kent - - - £4195 £13810 - Canterbury On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD The University of Edinburgh - - - - - - Edinburgh On campus Part-time
Statistics PhD The London School of Economics and Political Science - - - - - - London On campus Full-time
Genomic Medicine and Statistics DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - - Oxford On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics and Machine Learning (EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training) DPhil University of Oxford - - - - - - Oxford On campus Full-time
Social Statistics PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics and Operational Research (STOR-i) PhD Lancaster University - - - - - - Lancaster On campus Full-time
Statistics PhD Newcastle University - - - - - - Newcastle On campus Part-time